skip to Main Content

The Gravity Groove label was born from a party of the same name in Southern Italy. As that turned four years old, so they kicked off the imprint which now hits release number three with a five-track effort from Groove Squared featuring remixes from Darren Price and Sam Pauli.

Active since the 90s, Groove Squared has done everything from space funk to pop to nujazz and nowadays focusses purely on club grooves that make you move. Often hitting the top of download charts and releasing on the likes of Trapez ltd, Traum & Engrave ltd, he is an ever more regular name at top clubs around the world from Tresor to Sonar.

His latest release opens with title track ‘The Ground’, an epic house cut with spaced out synths and electronics colouring the smooth rolling drums. Filled with main room drama, it is a standout cut for sure. Remixer Darren Price is best known as being the tour DJ turned key member of legendary dance duo Underworld. He uses all his knowledge of time on the road and in the studio with that outfit to serve up an old school mix that retains the original’s sense of melodic colour and proggy intentions whilst layering in some loose limbed and driving house drums that really take it up a level.

‘Breathe’ is next and is another classy tune that takes its time in really sweeping you off your feet with smooth hits, grand melodic patterns and real musicality. When some arcing, tender female vocals come in the whole thing really soars. DJ, producer and co-founder of Chapter 24 Records Sam Pauli then remixes this one with a gentle, undulating groove. The vocals remain but are more detached and dreamy and the whole thing percolates with a real sense of late night and spiritual energy.

Last of all, ‘Howl’ finishes things off in resplendent fashion with gorgeous chords, melodies and bass notes all coming together with an angelic vocal that is sure to lend a celestial and heavenly feel to any DJ set.

This is a stunning EP filled with seductive and mature sounds that mark another great release for Gravity Groove.

Release Date: April 21st, 2017


1. The Ground
2. The Ground (Darren Price old school mix)
3. Breathe
4. Breathe (Sam Pauli Remix)
5. Howl

Back To Top