Skip to content

Odd Recordings is a new Techno focused label set up by friends Arjun Vagale and Ramiro Lopez who many will recognise from their joint productions on labels including Terminal M, SCI+TEC and Trapez Ltd.

Both solo producers in their own right, Arjun and Ramiro have individual back catalogues which combined include most, if not all of the world’s leading Techno labels such as Drumcode and Octopus Records.

Set to be a main outlet for the label owner’s music this first EP sees the label bosses collaborate on two original tracks.

Spanish born Ramiro Lopez started his career as a DJ playing many of Spain’s top events, but in 2006 he made the move towards production and has not looked back since. With regular appearances on imprints like Carl Cox label Intec, he has also been a regular production partner with Suara head honcho Coyu for releases on Noir Music and Bedrock.

Arjun Vagale was born in India where he formed part of the countries small but well sculpted and underground electronic music scene. Touring the globe regularly, he is as much a producer as he is a DJ, and his music has featured on scene leading labels like 100% Pure, Tronic and Bitten.

Track one titled ‘Oddball’ is the perfect way to kick off the new label with a title inspired by the labels name and the tracks rolling groove. Hard hitting drums playing fast flowing rhythms fuse with muffled vocal stabs and bubbling textures, that build in tension as the track develops. The lead vocal stating “this is not going to take long” is a fair description of the track, as one listen and it’s not long before you’re hooked!

Second is ‘Even Flow’ which starts with eerie pads that lead into the tracks intense and dancefloor focused groove. Synth stabs add a sense of intensity to this twisted monster that intends to devour us all with its grinding bassline. Unrelenting, the tracks are packed with a menacing energy and sense of excitement, that sets the tone for what will no doubt become the exceptionally high standard we can expect as from Odd Records.

Release Date: January 20th, 2016


Back To Top