Skip to content

Buy Link:

The latest release from Movement Recordings finds the label presenting the debut collaborative project from Trapped In Time & V-CIOUS. Hailing from Thessaloniki, Greece and heading up the excellent Us & Them imprint is Trapped In Time. The Greek artist owns a short but meticulous discography highlighted by releases on Steyoyoke and Three Hands Records. Also making his Movement Recordings debut is V-CIOUS. Hailing from Quito, Ecuador, which has become one of the most watched projects in melodic house & techno and progressive scene , with its latest releases on record labels such as Parquet Recordings , Manual Music, KDB and Upon You Records.  Now coming together for the very first time, Trapped In Time and V-CIOUS present their debut EP alongside remixes by Rafael Cerato and Sean & Dee.

Beginning with ‘Resurrection’ you get a feel for just how strong the creative synergy between these two talents is. Featuring the vocals of LAUD, Trapped In Time and V-CIOUS craft a foundation of tight beats, crunchy design and astral synth motifs. It’s growling low end is full of character and drama, positively charged and perfectly playing off LAUD’s distinct and otherworldly vocals. Coming to full fruition during the main break, a haze of drifting vocals and ethereal design converge in a perfect sonic marriage before effortlessly transitioning into a stripped back finale. The companion piece ‘Like the Sun’ follows suit with its ominous yet exhilarating energy. Darker undertones power the machine gun like groove while esoteric stabs and timely tonal shifts should make for some epic dance floor moments. Distinctive vocals speak in a prophetic manner, carrying the narrative into an acid fueled second act before shifting mood once more with a poignant final break.

The lone interpretation of ‘Resurrection’ is provided by Rafael Cerato who is making his label debut. Famed for releases on Beatfreak Recordings, Diynamic, Stil Vor Talent and Systematic, the French artist has been crafting cutting edge dance floor creations for the better part of a decade. Perhaps long overdue, he now makes his Movement Recordings debut with a stellar rework of ‘Resurrection’. Aptly coined ‘Afro’ Mix, Rafael stays quite true to the primary themes from the original while adding an assortment of organic drums and swing heavy rhythms. Building in waves, tension rises to a premium before dropping out as the vocal gets introduced for what should be a magical dance floor moment. Clever transitions in conjunction with shifts in energy and space make for an exciting and ever-evolving astral storyboard. Masterful work from one of the scenes brightest talents.

The release concludes with Sean & Dee providing the lone interpretation of ‘Like the Sun’. Also making their Movement Recordings debut, the Italian duo have impressed since forming their partnership in 2017. Key releases on Beatfreak Recordings, Dear Deer, Glasgow Underground and ICONYC Noir have established them as one of progressive music’s most promising new duos.

Release Date: January 28th, 2019.


Back To Top